Writings & More


“Books are the quietest and most constant of friends; they are the most accessible and wisest of counselors, and the most patient of teachers.”

quintessence: the poetry of true nature

Published by River Grove, quintessence offers poetic musings on an exploration of the essence of being. These poems speak to anyone interested finding the meaning to life.

Buy from:

And the Amazon Global Store.

Published by River Grove Books, part of Greenleaf Book Group.


Each of these poems represents an element of the inside-in understanding that I have immersed myself in over the last few years, and a lifetime of learning. None of them are a complete picture, and they all represent my own ever-shifting seeing. They can be read in any order, with no prior understanding. 

I’ve been touched, pulling this collection together, as I hear the message of each poem as though for the first time. And it is a simple message. A message of exploration for its own sake. A message of the recognition of our true nature as love, freedom, peace, joy, beauty, and abundance. A message that starts to inform our everyday lives. We live more in alignment with the love that we are. Bit by bit, ego is cleaned up. We feel less separate. Sure, habitual thoughts will still arise. We might still feel anxious, angry, or hurt. But the more we know these feelings are not our identity, the shallower their roots. 

This exploration points away from therapy, techniques, models, and beliefs and toward the core of experience. It points to what is, beyond judgements, perceptions, sensations, and feelings. It points to the only thing we can ever know for sure, that we are aware. And in awareness, we find the love, freedom, peace, joy, beauty, and abundance we have always been. Right here, right now. A wonderful exploration. 

These writings come from the heart, not the head. Let love speak to love.

With Love,


In quintessence: the poetry of true nature, author and teacher Sara Priestley continues her longtime exploration of both knowledge and experience, moving through reflections, emotions, and inner dialogue to reach a fuller recognition of the abundance of being.

She frames this journey using the five fundamental elements of the universe as themes, grouping poems using the principles of earth, water, air, fire, or essence. Not only does this framework help with the discovery of meaning but also the attribution of it, colouring each poem with a new light.

Though Sara’s approach to poetry is often described as an inside-out way of knowing, she prefers to call it inside-in, to bring recognition to the directness of the paths of understanding. You’ll find profound truths penned with clarity, lightness, and simplicity as you share in her journey, poem by poem. And after you experience all the joy, freedom, grief, and peace quintessence offers, you may discover a new understanding of your own true nature.

The Little Book of Lochend Reflections

This miniature photo book showcases a selection of bite-sized quotes and images, breaking the nondual teaching down into easily digestible concepts. 

Lochend is the location for our annual retreat, and one of my favourite places in the world.

The Wisdom of Clouds (A Little Book)

A miniature book showcasing 12 steps towards a non-dual understanding and 9 poems, each accompanied with the image that inspired them.

Clouds offer us an opportunity to reflect on the nature of reality. Infinite expression, ever changing, at once form and formless.

Enfield Poets - Poem of the Month, September 2020

Featured Excerpt


The fire burns bright
And shadows dance

The dancing shadows
Just a pale reflection
Of the flame

If not for the fire
There would be no shadows

There are no answers
In the shadows
However enticing the patterns
Shadows no more

Than the absence of light
Look to the flame

Not for answers
But because there’s nowhere else to look
The fire burns bright
The shadows subside

Telling Tales
Video & Audio